Faculty Awards And Service, Fall 2010

Prof Joins Ranks Of Top Animal Scientists

Don Beitz (’67 PhD dairy science) received the Frank Barron Morrison Award in July at the American Society of Animal Science conference. Beitz, an Iowa State animal science and biochemistry distinguished professor, received the honor for outstanding research that is important in livestock production. He is the sixth Iowa State professor to receive the honor since Jay Lush, an Iowa State animal science professor, first received it in 1946.

Birrell And White Receive New Patents

Stuart Birrell, agricultural and biosystems engineering, was issued a patent in June for “Air Movement Unit for Biomass Conveyance, Separation or Combine Performance Enhancement.” Pamela White (’81 PhD food technology), food science and human nutrition, received a patent issued in May for “Terpene Ester Compounds as Autoxidation Inhibitors for Frying Oils.”

Recently Named To Endowed Positions

  • Lance Baumgard, animal science, Norman L. Jacobson Endowed Professorship in Dairy Science
  • Suzanne Hendrich, University Professor, Charlotte E. Roderuck Faculty Fellow in Food Science and Human Nutrition
  • Joseph Sebranek, animal science and food science and human nutrition, Morrison Chair in Meat Science
  • Jan Thompson, natural resource ecology and management, Harmon Family Professor in Forestry


Aurelio Curbelo Receives Leadership Award

Aurelio Curbelo (’02 ag and life sciences education, MS ’06), minority liaison officer for the multicultural programs office in the college, received the 2010 Veishea Leadership Award for Excellence. The award recognizes faculty and staff who have been instrumental in improving leadership on campus. Curbelo works with students to promote diversity, facilitate internship opportunities and encourage research experiences in agriculture, science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Hearty Hellos

Jennifer Bousselot (’01 plant health and protection, ’03 MS sustainable agriculture), joined the horticulture department as a lecturer and coordinator of the Iowa Master Gardener Program.

Jay Lampe (’01 animal science, ’04 MS) is the manager of the swine farms overseeing the swine teaching, nutrition and research farms.

Fond Farewells

Mary de Baca, director of college diversity programs, retired in August after 51 years at Iowa State University. She served on the faculty in human development and family studies and became involved in international agriculture programs in the early 1990s.

Robert Jolly, professor in economics, retired after a 31-year career at Iowa State. In addition to his research, teaching, extension and international work in the department, Jolly served in various administrative roles for the college and university.

Jon Tollefson (’75 PhD entomology), professor and former chair in the entomology department retired in June. Tollefson joined Iowa State in 1975 and specialized in research on the management of the corn rootworm.

For a complete list of new faculty and staff in the college download the college’s convocation program at: http://www.ag.iastate.edu/features/downloads10/Fall2010ConvocationBrochure.pdf.

Faculty Named Fellows Of National Professional Societies

– Steven Hoff, American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

– David Hennessy (’93 PhD economics), Agricultural and Applied Economics Association

Maynard Hogberg (’66 ag education, MS ’72 animal science, PhD ’76), American Society of Animal Science

John Patience, American Society of Animal Science

Inaugural Kolmer Award Presented To Mallarino And Timms

Antonio Mallarino (MS ’81 agronomy, ’88 PhD), soil fertility professor and extension specialist, and Leo Timms, animal science professor and dairy extension specialist, received the Dean Lee R. Kolmer Award for Excellence in Applied Research. The new award, made possible by a gift from Lee and Jean Kolmer, recognizes faculty and staff within the college who have made significant contributions to improving the welfare of the people of Iowa through applied research.

A Legend Inducted Into Meat Industry Hall Of Fame

Professor emeritus Bob Rust, animal science, is one of 12 “legends” chosen as the Meat Industry’s best of the best. Rust was inducted into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame Class of 2010 in October. Rust developed the meat science extension program at Iowa State including the development of the processed meat short courses.