Alumni News – Fall 2020


College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) graduates and friends have been honored by Iowa State University for service to the college and agricultural and life sciences industries. College of Veterinary Medicine awards presented to CALS graduates: Stange Award, Gary L. Borkowski (‘83 dairy science and agricultural and life sciences education, ’87 DVM), senior director, American Association for Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care and Outstanding Young Alumni Award, Sherry Johnson (’08 Spanish and animal science, ’12 DVM), partner, Equine Sports Medicine, LLC. These awards will be presented in a virtual ceremony this spring.

  • Floyd Andre Award, Jeff Plagge (’78 ag business), CEO Northwest Financial Corp. George Washington Carver Distinguished Service Award, Dewayne Goldmon (‘91 PhD agronomy), executive director of the National Black Growers Association
  • Henry A. Wallace Award, Roger Carlsson (’78 ag business), chairman First Continental
  • Henry A. Wallace Award, Betsy Freese (’84 ag journalism), executive editor, Living the Country Life, Successful Farming
  • Outstanding Young Professional Award, Colin Hurd (‘13 ag studies), business development manager Raven Industries, Founder Smart Ag


CALS Grads Honored by Farm Managers, Appraisers

Several College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Alumni were honored by the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers for professional excellence:

  • Lawain Biermann (’91 ag studies) 2019 Professional Farm Manager of the Year
  • Rex Wilcox (’72 ag business) 2019 D. Howard Doane Award
  • James Borel (’78 ag business) 2019 Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service Award
  • Ben Isaacson (’06 animal science, ’09 MS) 2019 Early Career Award
  • Chip Flory (’87 ag journalism) 2019Meritorious Service in Communication Award


Kramer 2020 International Crop Adviser of the Year

Adam Kramer (’05 ag studies), owner of Black Sand Granary, was named the 2020 International Crop Adviser of the Year by the American Society of Agronomy. The award recognizes exceptional customer service, innovation, leadership and contributions to the transfer of agronomic knowledge.

LaGrange Named 2020 National Wetland Hero

Ted LaGrange (’81 fisheries and wildlife biology, ’85 MS animal ecology), wetland program manager for the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, was named the 2020 National Wetland Hero for Wetlands Program Development by the Environmental Law Institute. LaGrange is honored for his efforts over 25 years building and developing Nebraska’s Wetland Program.